Historical dance Summer workshop in Normandie France

by Chestnut and Fantaisies Baroques 

DSC_6188Chestnut and Fantaisies Baroques welcome you in Normandy from August 9 to 14, 2015 for a workshop of period dances.

  1. Contents
  2. Schedule
  3. Workshop description
  4. Evenings
  5. Instructors
  6. Location 
  7. Fees
  8. How to get there
  9. Welcome
  10. Registration
  11. Contact

Contents


logo_100_transparent_vertchestnutWith three different subjects and three instructors, you’ll be able to make up your own schedule according to your tastes and how energetic you feel! You may opt for an intensive dance programme, up to 7 hours daily, or choose a mix of workshops and time for restingLogo Fantaisies Baroques or for touring the area. Each day will start at 9 a.m. with a half hour of warming up exercises, led by each instructor in turn.


Daily Schedule


TimetableMondayTuesdayTuesdayThursday
9h45 - 12h45 English figure dances***Baroque dancesEnglish figure dances***Baroque dancesEnglish figure dances***Baroque dancesEnglish figure dances***Baroque dances
13hLunchLunchLunchLunch
14h30 - 16h30English figure dances */**Danse 1er EmpireEnglish figure dances */**Danse 1er Empire
17h - 19hDanse 1er EmpireEnglish figure dances */**Danse 1er EmpireEnglish figure dances */**
19h15 DinnerDinnerDinnerDinner
21hWelcome ballFilms and team quizz on period dancesTo be decided by traineesA show by Fantaisies Baroques and a Costume Ball including the dances studied in the workshops. (Please note: costume is not a must.)

Workshop Description


English Figure Dances Workshop

(Ateliers de Danses à Figures Anglaises: DAFA)

DAFA Morning Workshop (9:45-12:45) (**/***): this is a workshop for dancers already quite familiar with figure dances andDSC_6054alphaable to memorise long sequels of movements. It will be devoted to a modern repertoire and new choreographers. The final choice of dances will be made according to how many persons take part.

DAFA Afternoon Workshop (alternately 14:30-16:30 and 17:00-19:00) (*/**): this workshop is meant for people with a previous experience of dancing who would like to practice English figure dances; and for those who already know some of these dances and wish to broaden their repertoire and work on teaching problems. We’ll start with «The Whirligig» (Playford 1651). Each part will be prepared by exercises and dances on the figure being learned: half figure of eight (1st day) / figure of eight, circular hey and straight hey for three (2nd day) /  double figure of eight (3rd day). On the last day we’ll go over the whole programme.


Baroque Dances (DB) and Premier Empire (DPE)

DB Morning Workshop (9:45-12:45)for dancers wishing to start or improve in baroque dance techniques. We’ll work on the codes of baroque dancing, based on Pierre Rameau’s 1725 treatise Le Maître à Danser. We’ll then put them in practice based on a choreography out of the baroque repertoire: Sieur Dubreil’s La Bavaroise, a figure dance for two for the ball, and on the contredanse, also called Bavaroise, written in 1718.


DPE Afternoon Workshop (alternately 14:30-16:30 and 17:00-19:00) for dancers interested in dance techniques in useIMG_0677at the time of Napoleon I (Premier Empire) as found in the books of dance master Gourdoux-Daux. The source of inspiration for these ballroom dances is stage dancing. On our programme: La Gavotine, derived from Gavotte de Vestris, out of Dance Book T.B. 1826.


Evenings


Evening entertaiment will be organized for trainees and instructors to share a good time:

Monday: welcome dance

Tuesday: films and team quizz on period dances

Wednesday: will be decided by trainees

Thursday: a show by Fantaisies Baroques and a Costume Ball including the dances studied in the workshops. (Please note: costume is not a must.)


Instructors


Cécile LAYE

IMG_0546Cécile Laye studied historical dances in England with Dolmetsch Historical Dance Society, Nonsuch History and Dance and EFDSS (English folk Dance and Song Society). She studied in particular with famous teachers or researchers such as Anne Daye, Anne Cottis, Peggy Dixon, Ethyl Anderson, Marjorie Fennessy, Tom Cook and Alan Davies. In France, she studied under Francine Lancelot, Andréa Francalancci and Barbara Sparti. In 1998 she founded the CHESTNUT company to make available the repertoire of figure dances of the time of the Stuarts and the English inheritance, from a literary and historical point of view, in collaboration with musicians, dancers, actors, singers, horse riders and fencers. She also graduated from Cours Florent in acting and staging.


Irène FESTE

After a diploma in ballet dancing, Irène Feste studied « Belle Dance » with  L’Eclat des Muses, a company led byIrène FesteChristine Bayle. In 2007, she founded her own company with Pierre-François Dollé:  Fantaisies Baroques. They design and perform dance/theatre shows in schools and music schools. Irène Feste specialises in baroque and Premier Empire (Napoleonic time) dances, her two main fields of research. She regularly dances with compagnie Divertimenty.


Pierre-François DOLLÉ

After studying various subjects at the Köln academy, Pierre-Pierre-François DolléFrançois Dollé started dancing many different styles in several companies, working in Germany, England and other countries. Back in France he graduated as a dance teacher (DE diploma). His path also crossed Christine Bayle’s with whom he created many ballets. Besides he dances in another company, l’Eventail, and has a strong choreographing activity in various styles.


Location


Le Tapis Vert, a residence for artists nestling in a large estate in the Normandie-Maine park, offers several accommodation possibilities on site, from boarding-house to rented rooms and camping. Also on site, two superb halls for activities and a circus tent make for a high quality environment.

TheatreTapis vert 04 image003 Chap-int


Fees


Class fees : 1 class : 125€/pers.  / 2 classes : 180€/pers.  / 3 classes : 235€/pers. Accommodation and meals :  

Note: before registering, please call 01 45 70 83 94 to find out what accommodation is available.

All prices for one personSingle roomRoom with 2 single bedsRoom with 1 double bedRoom with several bedsCamping
Full board238 €/ pers. 196 €/ pers.186 €/ pers. 178 €/ pers. 158 €/ pers.
Partial board174 €/ pers. 132 €/ pers. 130 €/ pers. 114 €/ pers. 94 €/ pers.
Nights only,
no meals*
110 €/ pers. 68 €/ pers.65 €/ pers. 50 €/ pers. 30 €/ pers.
*Cooking facilities : please check with us

How to get there


  1. By car

Le Tapis vert is 200 km away from Paris and 130 km away from Rennes.

  1. By train

The nearest train station is Alençon, reached either through Surdos from Paris Montparnasse-Vaugirard or by TGV through le Mans. Share taxi or car from Alençon station.


Welcome


Trainees are welcome from Sunday, August 9 at 17:00. Departure on Friday, August 14 after breakfast.


Registration


Note: before registering, please call us at 01 45 70 83 94 to find out what accommodation is available. Registration form here.

Contact – Information

contact@chestnut.fr or 01 45 70 83 94

 

Animated Social Media Icons by Acurax Responsive Web Designing Company
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube

Stage d’été de danse historique 2015

par les compagnies Chestnut et Fantaisies Baroques 

DSC_6188Les compagnies Chestnut et Fantaisies Baroques vous accueilleront du 9 au 14 août 2015 pour un stage de danse historique en Normandie.

1. Contenu du stage
2. Planning
3. Descriptif des ateliers
4. Les soirées
5. Les intervenants
6. Lieu du stage 
7. Tarifs
8. Accès
9. Accueil
10. Inscription
                         11. Contact

Contenu du stage


logo_100_transparent_vertchestnut3 disciplines et 3 formateurs vous permettront de composer vous-mêmes votre emploi du temps en fonction de vos goûts et de votre énergie. Selon vos envies, vous pourrez vous concocter un programme intensif de danse (avec un maximumLogo Fantaisies Baroques de 7 heures de cours) ou alterner les moments d’atelier avec des moments de détente ou de visite touristique dans les environs. Chaque journée commencera à 9h par un travail de préparation physique d’une demi-heure qui sera assuré par les formateurs en alternance.


Planning du stage 


Horaireslundimardimercredijeudi
9h45 - 12h45 Danses ancienne à figures anglaise***Danse baroqueDanses ancienne à figures anglaise***Danse baroqueDanses ancienne à figures anglaise***Danse baroqueDanses ancienne à figures anglaise***Danse baroque
13hRepasRepasRepasRepas
14h30 - 16h30Danses ancienne à figures anglaise*/**Danse 1er EmpireDanses ancienne à figures anglaise*/**Danse 1er Empire
17h - 19hDanse 1er EmpireDanses ancienne à figures anglaise*/**Danse 1er EmpireDanses ancienne à figures anglaise*/**
19h15 RepasRepasRepasRepas
21hpetit bal d'accueilprojection de films et quizz-danses anciennes par équipesproposition des stagiairesspectacle par Fantaisies Baroques suivi d'une animation-bal en costume avec présentation des danses travaillées en atelier. (N.B. : le costume n'est pas une obligation.)

Descriptif des ateliers



Les Ateliers de Danses à Figures Anglaises (DAFA)


L’atelier du matin DAFA (9h45-12h45) (**/***): cet atelier s’adresse à des danseurs habitués au travail dans l’espace et capables deDSC_6054alpha mémoriser des enchaînements longs et complexes. L’atelier sera consacré au répertoire moderne et aux nouveaux chorégraphes. Le choix des danses proposées se fera en fonction du nombre des participants.

L’atelier de l’après-midi DAFA (en alternance 14h30-16h30 ou 17h-19h) (*/**): cet atelier s’adresse à des danseurs ayant déjà une expérience en danse et désireux de découvrir la danse à figures anglaise ou à des danseurs initiés souhaitant élargir leur répertoire et se pencher sur les problèmes que posent son réenseignement. Nous travaillerons «The Whirligig» (Playford 1651). Chaque partie sera préparée par des exercices et des danses ciblant la figure en voie d’intégration : demi-huit (1er jour) / le huit, la chaîne et le reel (2e jour) / la double figure (3e jour). Le dernier jour sera consacré à la révision de tout le répertoire acquis.


Les ateliers de danse baroque (DB) et de danses du Premier Empire (DPE)


L’atelier du matin (DB) (9h30-12h45) : cet atelier s’adresse aux danseurs désireux d’apprendre et/ou de se perfectionner dans la technique de la danse baroque. Nous travaillerons sur les codes de la danse baroque en se basant sur le traité Le Maître à Danser, de Pierre Rameau, 1725. Nous mettrons en pratique ces codes en déchiffrant une chorégraphie du répertoire baroque : La Bavaroise, du Sieur Dubreil, danse figurée à deux pour le bal et sa contredanse sous le même nom, composées et écrites en Chorégraphie, 1718.

IMG_0677L’atelier de l’après-midi (DPE) (en alternance 14h30-16h30 et 17h-19h) : cet atelier s’adresse à des danseurs souhaitant se familiariser à la technique de la danse de bal sous le Premier Empire, en travaillant sur les « traits de contredanse » des recueils du maître de danse Gourdoux-Daux.

Cette esthétique s’inspire de la technique de la danse de théâtre. Nous proposons de danser La Gavotine qui s’inspire de la Gavotte de Vestris, du Dance Book T.B. 1826.


Les soirées 


Elles s’organiseront autour de différents thèmes avant de permettre aux stagiaires et aux formateurs de partager des moments de convivialité :

lundi  : petit bal d’accueil
mardi  : projection de films et quizz-danses anciennes par équipes
mercredi : proposition des stagiaires
jeudi : spectacle par Fantaisies Baroques suivi d’une animation-bal en costume avec présentation des danses travaillées en atelier. (N.B. : le costume n’est pas une obligation.)

Les intervenants


IMG_0546

Cécile LAYE

Cécile Laye étudie la danse ancienne en Angleterre avec la Dolmetsch Historical Danse Society, Nonsuch History and Dance et la EFDSS (English folk Dance and Song Society). Elle a en particulier l’occasion de travailler sous la direction de pédagogues ou de chercheurs renommés tels que Anne Daye, Anne Cottis, Peggy Dixon, Ethyl Anderson, Marjorie Fennessy, Tom Cook et Alan Davies. En France, elle étudie avec Francine Lancelot, Andréa Francalancci et Barbara Sparti. En 1998, Cécile LAYE fonde la compagnie CHESTNUT pour faire connaître le répertoire des danses à figures de l’époque des Stuarts et de l’héritage anglais en rapport avec certains aspects de l’histoire et de la littérature et en collaboration avec des musiciens, des danseurs, descomédiens, des chanteurs, des cavaliers, des escrimeurs. Elle s’est aussi formée à la comédie et à la mise en scène au Cours Florent dont elle est diplômée.

Irène Feste

Irène FESTE

Titulaire du DE de danse classique, Irène Feste se forme ensuite à la « Belle Dance » au sein de la compagnie L’Eclat des Muses dirigée par Christine Bayle. En 2007, elle fonde la compagnie Fantaisies Baroques avec Pierre-François Dollé. Tous les deux conçoivent de nombreux spectacles de danse-théâtre et interviennent dans le cadre de différents conservatoires et en milieu scolaire. Irène Feste s’est plus particulièrement spécialisée dans la danse baroque et celle du Premier Empire qui constituent ses deux principaux axes de recherche. Elle danse régulièrement avec la compagnie Divertimenty.

Pierre-François Dollé

Pierre-François DOLLÉ

Après une formation pluridisciplinaire à l’académie de Cologne, Pierre- François Dollé danse des répertoires très contrastés au sein de différentes compagnies qui l’amènent à travaille entre autre, en Allemagne et en Angleterre. De retour en France, ilobtient son DE de professeur de danse et croise lui aussi le chemin de Christine Bayle avec laquelle il va créer de nombreux ballets. Il danse également pour la compagnie de l’Eventail. Dans des styles divers, il a également une activité soutenue de chorégraphe.


Lieu du stage


Centre de résidence artistique, Le Tapis Vert, blotti dans un vaste domaine situé dans le parc  Normandie-Maine, propose dans un seul lieu plusieurs possibilités d’hébergement, de la pension de famille au camping en passant par le gîte rural. Sur place également, deux superbes salles d’activité et un chapiteau contribuent à offrir un environnement de qualité aux stagiaires.

TheatreTapis vert 04 image003 Chap-int


Tarifs


Frais pédagogiques : 1 cours : 125€/pers.  / 2 cours : 180€/pers.  / 3 cours : 235€/pers. Frais d’hébergement et repas :  

N.B. : avant de compléter votre inscription, 
veuillez vous renseigner au 01 45 70 83 94 sur la disponibilité des différents types d’hébergement.
Les prix s'entendent par personne Chambre individuelleChambre à 2 lits simples chambre à 1 lit double Chambre collectiveCamping
Pension complète238 €/ pers. 196 €/ pers.186 €/ pers. 178 €/ pers. 158 €/ pers.
Demi- pension174 €/ pers. 132 €/ pers. 130 €/ pers. 114 €/ pers. 94 €/ pers.
Nuitées seules*110 €/ pers. 68 €/ pers.65 €/ pers. 50 €/ pers. 30 €/ pers.
*possibilité de cuisiner : nous consulter

Accès 


Se rendre au Tapis Vert

  1. en voiture

Le Tapis vert se trouve à 200km de Paris et 130 km de Rennes.

  1. en train

Votre destination est la gare d’Alençon. Depuis Paris Montparnasse-Vaugirard en passant par Surdos ou en TGV via le Mans, puis co-voiturage depuis la gare d’Alençon.


Accueil 


L’accueil des stagiaires se fera le dimanche 9 août à partir de 17h. Le départ aura lieu le vendredi 14 août après le petit déjeuner.


Inscription 


N.B. : avant de compléter votre inscription, 
veuillez vous renseigner au 01 45 70 83 94 sur la disponibilité des différents types d’hébergement.

Fiche d'inscription disponible ici

Contact – Renseignements


contact@chestnut.fr ou 01 45 70 83 94

Animated Social Media Icons by Acurax Wordpress Development Company
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube